Spokane Regional Transportation Management Center (SRTMC)

Agency Partners


SRTC is the federally designated Metropolitan Planning Organization for Spokane County. SRTC does regional transportation planning and encourages coordination and collaboration between planning and transportation departments in the City of Spokane, City of Spokane Valley, Spokane County, the Washington State Department of Transportation and small cities and towns, in order to assure cohesive connectivity throughout Spokane County. SRTC offers services such as transportation monitoring, transportation modeling, census information and analysis, travel demand forecasting, historical traffic count analysis, geographical information services, trip generation rates and traffic analysis zone data.


Spokane County

Spokane County has a total area of 1,781 square miles and is the fourth most populous county in Washington state with a 2007 census estimate population of 451,200. Spokane County government serves all the residents of Spokane County and is governed by a Board of County Commissioners, one from each of three districts. Within the boundaries of Spokane County are numerous incorporated cities, such as the City of Spokane, the City of Spokane Valley, the City of Liberty Lake, City of Cheney, City of Millwood, etc. Spokane County employs over 1900 individuals to help meet the needs of residents. There are more than 50 departments that provide a variety of services.

Spokane County maintains 2,695 miles of county roads. These roads consist of 11 miles of concrete roads, 168 miles of dirt and summer roads, 1038 miles of gravel roads and 1,478 miles of oil and paved roads.


City of Spokane

Spokane is the second largest city in Washington State with a 2006 census population estimate of over 198,000. The City of Spokane has about 2,000 employees and operates under a "strong mayor," form of government, where the Mayor is the head of the executive branch, similar to the governor's role at the state level and the President's role at the federal level.

The City of Spokane is responsible for 2017 lane miles of paved streets and 61 lane miles of gravel streets within the city limits.


Spokane Transit

Spokane Transit Authority (STA) provides mass transit services in the Spokane County Public Transportation Benefit Area. STA offers bus, paratransit vans and vanpool services in the 371 square mile service area which serves Airway Heights, Cheney, Medical Lake, Millwood, Liberty Lake, Spokane, Spokane Valley, and unincorporated areas of Spokane County. STA employs around 500 people.


Washington State Department of Transportation

The Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) is a governmental agency that constructs, maintains, and regulates the use of the state's transportation infrastructure. This infrastructure includes rail lines,state highways, state ferries (considered part of the highway system) and state airports. WSDOT oversees 174,019 lane miles of highways, county roads, city streets and other public roads in Washington. They also manage 29 ferries that transport over 13 million passengers per year.


City of Spokane Valley

Spokane Valley became Washington State's newest incorporated city in 2003. With an estimated population of 88,280, Spokane Valley is the 7th largest city in Washington State. The incorporated area of Spokane Valley encompasses approximately 38.5 square miles of land area. Spokane Valley contracts with Spokane County for street services such as general street repair and maintenance and traffic signal operations, and with WSDOT for traffic signal operations on roadways designated as state highways.